Top ten Iron Maiden Songs

Iron Maiden are a legendary heavy metal band based in Leyton, East London.

Top ten Iron Maiden Songs

The band was formed in Christmas 1975 by Steve Harris, the bassist, main composer and lyricist of the band. The name ‘Iron Maiden’ comes from the iron maiden torture device.

They spent their early days playing in the local pubs. After many changes in the line-ups, the band settled with Steve Harris (Bass), Dave Murray(Guitars), Doug Sampson(Drums) and Paul Di’Anno (Vocals). They recorded a demo called ‘The Soundhouse tapes’ in 1978.

In 1979 December, Iron Maiden secured a major record deal with EMI. Doug Sampson left the band due to health issues and was replaced by Clive Burr. Dave Murray’s childhood friend Adrian Smith joined the band and the famous & unique dual guitar sound of Iron Maiden was formed. The debut album called ‘Iron Maiden’ was released in 1980 which debuted on No 4 in the UK Charts.

But that was just the beginning. Iron Maiden released Killers in 1981 which was even more successful. Irom Maiden cemented their place as one of the most talented metal bands with the album.

Paul Di’Anno was fired due to drug-related issues and Samson singer Bruce Dickinson was hired. With his high-scale operatic voice, the band’s sound changed.

‘The Number Of the Beast’ was released in 1982. The album became UK Albums Chart No. 1 record and 14 million copies were sold worldwide. It is widely regarded as one of the best heavy metal albums of all times. It was voted the best British Album in the past 60 years in HMV’s Survey, leaving behind the likes of Pink Flyod and Beatles.

After the album, Clive Burr was fired from the band and was replaced by Nicko Mc Brain , previously from the band Trust.

The band  released Piece of Mind in 1983 and Powerslave in 1984 which were very successful and added to their fame. A hugely successful live album called ‘Live After Death’ was released while they also performed in Rock In Rio in front of 300,000 people.

‘Somewhere in Time’ was released in 1986 in which the band changed its sound. The album consists of synthesised bass and guitars. Seventh Son of a Seventh Son was released in 1988 which was the last album before upheaval.

After the ‘Seventh Son of a Seventh Son’, Adrian Smith parted ways with the band because he didn’t like the direction the band were heading. Janick Gers was chosen as his replacement.

‘No Prayer for the Dying’ was released in 1990 and ‘Fear of the Dark’ in 1992. Both albums weren’t as good as the previous ones. Bruce Dickinson left the band after ‘Fear of the Dark’ and focused on his solo career.

Blaze Bailey was chosen as Bruce’s replacement who had a deep and low voice. The void left by Dickinson was too hard to fill. With him as the lead vocalist, Maiden released the X Factor in 1995 and Virtual XI in 1998. X Factor was a pretty good record but Virtual XI became Maiden’s worst album, failing to sell even 1 million records (which was the first time in their history).

Blaze parted ways with the band on mutual consent and Bruce Dickinson agreed to return along with Adrian Smith. They recorded ‘Brave New World’ which was released in 2000. The album was a major success and the band was back to its past glory.

In the new millennium, Maiden songs became longer and experimental. Dance of  Death was released in 2003, A Matter of Life and Death in 2006 and The Final Frontier in 2010. The 2010 Album debuted at No. 1 in  the UK Charts and peaking at No 1 in 28 different countries. This was Maiden’s most commercially successful album till date.

The new Maiden record, which will be their last, is expected to be released in 2014.


10.  Seventh Son of A Seventh Son :

The 1988 masterpiece from the album Seventh Son of A Seventh Son is one of the Maiden’s epic songs. With Bruce’s wailing vocals and the melodious guitars, it brings orgasm to the ears.

9. Wasted Years :

Wasted Years is a typical fast paced Maiden song. It is from the 1986 album ‘Somewhere in Time’.

8. Run To The Hills :

Run To the Hills is a catchy song which tells about the battle between the British Invaders and native Americans. It is from the 1982 album – The Number of the Beast.

7. Rime of the Ancient Mariner :

An epic record from the Piece of Mind 1983 which tells about a marine voyage.

6. Aces High :

A short, fast paced song from the Powerslave (1984) album.

5. Dance of Death :

Dance of Death is from the 2003 album ‘Dance of Death’.

4. Trooper :

The 1983 Piece of Mind record contains this beautiful song. It is regarded as one of the metal anthems.

3. Fear of the Dark :

An epic song from the 1982 album Fear of the Dark.

2. The Number of the Beast :

This song which was recorded in 1982 was claimed by many to be satanic.

1. Hallowed be Thy Name

Covered by almost all metal bands once in their lifetime, this song is what Iron Maiden is about. Just too perfect !!

Agreed with the list ? If not, what are your Top ten Iron Maiden Songs ? Comment below !!!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *